MCC explained what the rules say about the disputed runout of Fakhar Zaman


There is a lot of controversy regarding the runout of Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman. In the second ODI International match of the three-match series played against South Africa on Sunday (April 3), Fakhar lost a world record innings of 193 runs. The host team won by 17 runs to take 1-1 in the series. There has been a debate on social media about Fakhar’s runout whether Pakistan should have got five penalty runs on that ball and Fakhar should have been not out? On this, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has now explained its rules as to why Fakhar Zaman was declared out.

Read More  Root dug the roots of Indian bowling, hit double century

The MCC has made two tweets and explained why Fakhar Zaman was called out. MCC wrote in the tweet, ’41 .5.1 Nimay states,’ It is wrong that if a fielder deliberately tries to create a bottleneck in a batsman while taking runs by his action, words after taking the ball. ‘ #MCCLaws’, along with this tweet, MCC has also shared the video of the disputed runout. After this, MCC wrote in another tweet, ‘The rule is clear if the fielder deliberately confuses the batsman. The umpire has the right to decide whether or not this has happened. Then it is not out and there are five runs of penalty and +2 runs which were taken by the batsmen and the batsman decides who will take the strike on the next ball.

Read More  England suffered a shock before the Test match, this player who scored a double century was injured

Talking about the match, South Africa, batting first, scored 341 runs for six wickets in 50 overs. Dickock scored an 80-run knock, while captain Temba Bavuma scored 92 runs. In response, Pakistan could only manage 324 runs for 9 wickets in 50 overs. Fakhar was runout on the first ball of the last over of the match. When Fakhar was about to complete the run, Dickock pointed to the nonstriker end, while the throw was coming to the striker end, where Fakhar was about to reach. Fakhar looked back and thus got runout.

Read More  Team India announced for T20 series, Suryakumar Yadav and Rahul Tewatia got chance, Rishabh Pant returned



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here